History

Brief history with considerable experience

2000: When Stress & Strength GmbH was established in May 2000 as a spin-off of Fraunhofer LBF in Darmstadt it was able to draw on many years of expert experience in structural durability research.

2001: Based on research of Fraunhofer LBF, the first software was published in 2001, which was LBF®.WheelStrength for CAE Patran/Nastran; however it was not yet integrated into CAE at this time, nor was there an individual user interface.

2002: The company expanded the software release with a further CAE interface for ANSYS.

Until 2010: Both versions were enhanced and expanded using various bug fixes and feature releases. Different solutions for client-specific problems were also developed.


Head office of Stress & Strength GmbH in Darmstadt.
2011: The increasing digitalisation of production processes in the automotive industry also placed higher demands on the software, thus work began on new LBF®.WheelStrength Version 3.0.

2013: The new software LBF®.WheelStrength 3.0 was successfully released. New features included an individual user interface, new functionalities for passenger cars and commercial vehicles, as well as various tire models.

2014: Based on LBF®.WheelStrength 3.0 the first release of a new generation was published under the name LBF®.WheelStrength Cordelia with once more extended functionalities.

2015: The successor of LBF®.WheelStrength Cordelia was successfully released: LBF®.WheelStrength Ophelia. This release is mainly characterized by its increased performance and efficiency and thereby saving of calculation time.

2016: LBF®.WheelStrength Bianca offers a new powerful graphic module, an additional interface and a tire model extension. The development on new features and the increase of processing speed could be continued successfully.

2017: LBF®.WheelStrength Ariel provides further options to customize the calculation for specific demands. Increased functionality and optimized graphic processing enhance the evaluation of the simulation results.

2018: With the current release LBF®.WheelStrength Titania the functional range is extended by another stress hypothesis and a design spectrum for the lifetime assessment of wheels and wheel hubs on 3-axle semi-trailers. Besides the interfaces to Abaqus, ANSYS, Nastran and Permas, an interface to Altair Hyperworks OptiStruct is now available.

2019: LBF®.WheelStrength Miranda adds the possibility to define a preload, that is super imposed with the standard loads. There is also a new design spectra for torsion, that adds the load cases braking, braking in curve and acceleration. In a new menu you can calculate the distance between two nodes. The length of the load application has been reduced drastically.

Historie

Kurze Geschichte mit viel Erfahrung

2000: Als Spin-Off des Fraunhofer LBF in Darmstadt konnte die Stress & Strength GmbH bei ihrer Gründung im Mai 2000 bereits auf langjährige kompetente Erfahrung im Forschungsbereich der Betriebsfestigkeit zurückblicken.

2001: Basierend auf den Forschungen des Fraunhofer LBF wurde die erste Softwareentwicklung bereits 2001 als LBF®.WheelStrength für die CAE-Software Patran/Nastran veröffentlicht; zu dieser Zeit allerdings noch in die CAE integriert und ohne eigene Benutzeroberfläche.

2002: Das Unternehmen erweiterte das Softwarerelease um eine weitere CAE-Schnittstelle für ANSYS.

Bis 2010: Beide Versionen wurden mit Hilfe von diversen Bugfix- und Feature-Releases verbessert und erweitert. Außerdem wurden verschiedene Lösungen für kundenspezifische Probleme entwickelt.


Sitz der Stress & Strength GmbH in Darmstadt
2011: Durch die stark zunehmende Digitalisierung von Produktionsprozessen in der Automobilindustrie stiegen auch die Anforderungen an die Software, sodass mit den Arbeiten an einer neuen LBF®.WheelStrength Version 3.0 begonnen wurde.

2013: Die neue Software LBF®.WheelStrength 3.0 wurde erfolgreich veröffentlicht. Neuigkeiten waren unter anderem eine eigene Benutzeroberfläche, neue Features für die Bereiche PKW, LKW, und weitere Kraftfahrzeuge sowie verschiedene Reifenmodelle.

2014: Basierend auf LBF®.WheelStrength 3.0 wurde das erste Release einer neuen Generation unter dem Namen LBF®.WheelStrength Cordelia mit nochmals erweiterter Funktionalität auf den Markt gebracht.

2015: Der Nachfolger von LBF®.WheelStrength Cordelia wurde erfolgreich veröffentlicht: LBF®.WheelStrength Ophelia. Dieses Release zeichnet sich durch gesteigerte Performanz und Effizienz aus, wodurch Berechnungszeit eingespart wird.

2016: LBF®.WheelStrength Bianca bietet ein leistungsstärkeres Grafikmodul, eine zusätzliche Schnittstelle und eine Erweiterung der Reifenmodelle. Die Entwicklung in den Bereichen Funktionalität und Berechnungsgeschwindigkeit konnte erforlgreich fortgeführt werden.

2017: LBF®.WheelStrength Ariel stellt weitere Optionen zur Anpassung der Berechnung an spezifische Anforderungen zur Verfügung. Erweiterte Funktionsvielfalt und optimierte graphische Darstellung unterstützen zusätzlich die Auswertung der Simulationsergebnisse.

2018: Mit dem aktuellen Release LBF®.WheelStrength Titania wird der Funktionsumfang durch eine weitere Spannungshypothese und ein Bemessungskollektiv zur Lebensdauerabschätzung von 3-Achs-Sattelauf­lieger-Rädern und -Radnaben erweitert. Neben den bisherigen Schnittstellen zu Abaqus, ANSYS, Nastran und Permas gibt es nun ebenfalls eine Schnittstelle zu Altair Hyperworks OptiStruct.

2019: LBF®.WheelStrength Miranda fügt die Möglichkeit hinzu eine Vorlast zu definieren, die mit den Standardlasten überlagert wird. Es gibt auch ein neues Bemessungskollektiv für Torsion, welches die Lastfälle Bremsen, Bremsen Kurve und Beschleunigen hinzufügt. Im Menü gibt es die neue Funktion den Abstand zweier Knoten zu bestimmen. Die Dauer der Lastaufbringung wurde drastisch reduziert.